Companion to East Timor - UDT


On 11 May 1974, the Uniao Democratica Timorense (UDT) or Timorese Democratic Union was the first political party to be formed. It had 23 members, including three members of the now-defunct Accao Nacional Popular (ANP). UDT's first president was Francisco Lopes da Cruz, its vice-president was Cesar Augusto da Costa Mouzinho and its secretary-general was Domingos Oliveira. Its other leaders were the Carrascalao brothers (Manuel, Mario and Joao).