Molecular Design

The Molecular Design group combines the expertise of several School of PEMS researchers, supported by approximately twenty PhD candidates.

The research focus is on the design, synthesis and/or study of novel molecules, supramolecular structures and materials for various applications. These include biological, environmental, pharmaceutical, industrial and military applications. Current expertise of members includes: organic and inorganic synthesis, inorganic biochemistry and physical and theoretical chemistry. Members participate in national and international collaborations, and have international reputations.

Particular strengths of the Group are:

    • New anticancer and antimicrobial drugs (Grant Collins)

    • Functionalised supramolecular building blocks (Anthony Day)

    • Quantum mechanical simulation of molecular reactions (Terry Frankcombe)

    • Atomistic simulations of gas-surface interactions (Terry Frankcombe)

    • Ionic liquids (Cliff Woodward, Ken Harris)

    • Liquid transport property standards (Ken Harris)

    • Water quality and purification (Ric Pashley and Mok Rahman)

    • Protein aggregation (Cliff Woodward)

    • Biological simulations and self-assembly nanostructures (Cliff Woodward)

    • Redox-active and luminescent transition metal complexes (Lynne Wallace)

    • Green energetic materials (Lynne Wallace)

The goals of the molecular design group is supported by well-equipped laboratories and a comprehensive range of instruments, such as:

    • NMR spectrometers, for both high-field solution studies and low field diffusion studies;
    • Shimadzu Prominence UFLC high pressure liquid chromatograph;
    • Shimadzu GCMS-QP2010 gas chromatograph mass spectrometer;
    • Shimadzu IRprestige-21 FTIR spectrometer with ATR capability;
    • Varian CARY50 Bio and Shimazdu UVmini1240 UV-vis spectrometers;
    • Horiba JobinYvon FluoroMax-3 Fluorometer;
    • Jasco J815 CD Circular dichroism spectrometer;
    • Varian SpectraAA atomic absorption spectrometer;
    • Potentiostats for electrosynthesis and analytical electrochemistry.