Our Researchers

Name Position Phone Email
Professor Hussein Abbass Professor +61 2 6268 8158 h.abbass@adfa.edu.au
Mr Mark Aizengendler Electronics Engineer +61 2 626 88229 M.Aizengendler@adfa.edu.au
Dr Andrey Alenin Research Associate +61 2 6268 8216 a.alenin@adfa.edu.au
Dr Sreenatha Anavatti Senior Lecturer +61 2 6268 8079 a.sreenatha@adfa.edu.au
Mr Adnan Anwar PhD Student +61 2 6268 8989 A.Anwar@adfa.edu.au
Mr Simon Barraclough S.Barraclough@adfa.edu.au
Dr Craig Benson Senior Lecturer +61 2 6268 8206 c.benson@adfa.edu.au
Dr George Bowden Postdoctoral Fellow – Space Weather Modelling +61 2 626 88522
Professor Russell Boyce Chair for Space Engineering +61 2 6268 8056 russell.boyce@adfa.edu.au
Mr Christopher Capon Christopher.Capon@student.adfa.edu.au
Dr Manuel Cegarra Polo Research Associate - Space Surveillance +61 2 626 88276 m.cegarrapolo@adfa.edu.au
Associate Professor Stephen Coleman Associate Professor of International and Political Studies +61 2 6268 8812 s.coleman@adfa.edu.au
Reverend Nikki Coleman Research Associate n.coleman@adfa.edu.au
Mr Igor Dimitrijevic Electronics Engineer I.Dimitrijevic@adfa.edu.au
Associate Professor Matthew Garratt Deputy Head of School (Research) +61 2 6268 8267 M.Garratt@adfa.edu.au
Dr James Gilmore Postdoctoral Fellow – Space Surrogate Modelling +61 2 6268 8446 James.gilmore@adfa.edu.au
Dr Douglas Griffin Space Project Lead +61 2 626 89507 d.griffin@adfa.edu.au
Professor Paul Hazell Professor +61 2 6268 8266 p.hazell@adfa.edu.au
Mrs Kristin Holgate Centre Administrator - Canberra Space +61 2 6268 8349
Dr Xiuping Jia Senior Lecturer - Electrical Engineering +61 2 6268 8202 x.jia@adfa.edu.au
Dr Joseph Kurtz Research Associate J.Kurtz@adfa.edu.au
Associate Professor Andrew Lambert Research Student Candidature Coordinator +61 2 6268 8351 a.lambert@adfa.edu.au
Mrs Deepika Manoharan
Mr Rounak Manoharan Rounak.Manoharan@student.adfa.edu.au
Associate Professor Andrew Neely Associate Professor +61 2 6268 8251 a.neely@adfa.edu.au
Associate Professor Sean O'Byrne +61 2 6268 8353 s.obyrne@adfa.edu.au
Dr Sebastian Oberst Visiting Fellow +61 2 6268 8191 s.oberst@adfa.edu.au
Mr Siddharth Pandey PhD student +61 2 626 88362 Siddharth.Pandey@student.adfa.edu.au
Scientia Professor Ian Petersen Visiting Professorial Fellow i.petersen@adfa.edu.au
Mr Michael Petkovic
Mr James Prior 6268 8410 James.prior@adfa.edu.au
Dr Hemant Singh UG Mechanical Program Coordinator +61 2 6268 8270 h.singh@adfa.edu.au
Mr Brenton Smith PhD Student
Dr Murat Tahtali Research Student Admissions and Scholarships Coordinator +61 2 6268 8278 m.tahtali@adfa.edu.au
Dr Sean Tuttle PG Space Program Coordinator +61 2 6268 8998 s.tuttle@adfa.edu.au
Professor Scott Tyo Professor and Head of School 02 6268 9534 s.tyo@adfa.edu.au
Mr Hilbert Van Pelt Hilbert.VanPelt@student.adfa.edu.au
Dr Israel Vaughn Research Associate +61 2 6268 8257 i.vaughn@unsw.edu.au

UNSW Canberra Flight Team :

  • Dr Doug Griffin - Spacecraft Project Lead / Systems Engineer
  • Mr Arvind Ramana - Flight Software Engineer
  • Mr Igor Dimitrijevic - Spacecraft Electronics Engineer
  • Dr Sebastian Oberst - Mechanical Engineer
  • Dr Philippe Lorrain - Test & Evaluation Engineer (50%)
  • Dr Joe Kurtz - Space-based Instrumentation Scientist (50%)
  • Dr Mark Aizengendler - Space-based Instrumentation Electronics Engineer (50%)
  • to be appointed - Formation Flying Scientist/Engineer (50%)

UNSW Canberra Research Staff :

  • Dr Melrose Brown - astrodynamics, SSA, space physics and simulations/experiments/flight
  • Christopher Capon - SSA, Space Physics, Kinematic Simulation Techniques
  • Manuel Cegarra – Research Associate – Ground-based telescopes
  • Dr Joe Kurtz - Space-based Instrumentation Scientist - space-based advanced instrumentation development(50%)
  • Dr Philippe Lorrain - ground-based experimental space object aerodynamics research, satellite Test & Evaluation engineering and satellite thermal analysis(50%)
  • Siddharth Pandey – Space Systems Engineering – Spacecraft Thermal Design – Gas Gap Insulation – Pneumatic Sample Acquisition Systems for Planetary Surface Missions
  • to be appointed - Formation Flying Scientist/Engineer (50%)

UNSW Canberra Technical Staff :

  • Mr Dan Korab – thermal vacuum chamber and mechanical workshop technical officer
  • Mr Mark Dumbrell – thermal vacuum chamber and mechanical workshop technical officer
  • Mr Paul Walsh – mechanical engineering and design technical officer