Our People

Directors

Name Position School/Centre Phone Email
Mr Nigel Phair Director, UNSW Canberra Cyber UNSW Canberra Cyber +61 2 626 88501 n.phair@adfa.edu.au
Professor Monica Whitty Director of Cyber Security Research UNSW Canberra Cyber monica.whitty@adfa.edu.au

Cyber Team

Name Position School/Centre Phone Email
Ms Tarsha Dickenson Teaching Support Officer (Part-time) UNSW Canberra Cyber t.dickenson@adfa.edu.au
Miss Dianne Ferguson Centre Manager, UNSW Canberra Cyber UNSW Canberra Cyber M: +61 410 402 757 d.ferguson@adfa.edu.au
Ms Penny Grove Teaching Support Officer UNSW Canberra Cyber +61 2 5114 5592 p.grove@adfa.edu.au
Mr Rory Macleod Cyber Range Manager UNSW Canberra Cyber P: +61 2 626 88252 M: +61 412 960 916 r.macleod@adfa.edu.au
Mr Matthew Peyton Senior Technical Officer (Acting) UNSW Canberra Cyber m.peyton@adfa.edu.au

Academics

Name Position School/Centre Phone Email
Professor Greg Austin Professor of Cyber Security, Strategy and Diplomacy School of Engineering and Information Technology +65 81893318 g.austin@unsw.edu.au
Professor Deborah Blackman Head of School School of Business +61 (2) 6268 8831 d.blackman@adfa.edu.au
Dr Faycal Bouhafs Senior Lecturer School of Engineering and Information Technology +61 2 6268 8157 f.bouhafs@adfa.edu.au
Professor Elizabeth Chang Professor in Logistics and IT School of Business 02 6268 8414 elizabeth.chang@unsw.edu.au
Associate Professor Frank den Hartog Director of PG Studies & Associate Professor School of Engineering and Information Technology +61 2 6268 8816 frank.den.hartog@unsw.edu.au
Professor John-David Dewsbury School of Science +61 62688078 JD.Dewsbury@adfa.edu.au
Dr Ned Dobos Senior Lecturer in International & Political Studies School of Humanities and Social Sciences +61 2 6268 6273 n.dobos@adfa.edu.au
Dr Jai Galliott Director - Values in Defence & Security Technology Group School of Engineering and Information Technology +61 424 043 247 j.galliott@unsw.edu.au
Associate Professor Douglas Guilfoyle Associate Professor of International and Security Law School of Humanities and Social Sciences douglas.guilfoyle@adfa.edu.au
Associate Professor Omar Hussain School of Business +61 2 626 88512 o.hussain@adfa.edu.au
Dr Keith Joiner Senior Lecturer in Test and Evaluation, Aircraft Systems School of Engineering and Information Technology +61 2 6268 8168 k.joiner@adfa.edu.au
Professor David Kilcullen Professor of International & Political Studies School of Humanities and Social Sciences d.kilcullen@adfa.edu.au
Dr Andrew Lapworth Lecturer in Cultural Geography, Geography Stream Coordinator School of Science a.lapworth@adfa.edu.au
Dr Tim Lynar Lecturer School of Engineering and Information Technology +61 2 626 88174 t.lynar@adfa.edu.au
Dr Anthea McCarthy-Jones HDR Coordinator School of Business 02 6268 8232 a.mccarthy-jones@adfa.edu.au
Dr Huadong Mo School of Engineering and Information Technology +61 2 6268 8683 huadong.mo@adfa.edu.au
Dr Nour Moustafa Master of Cyber Security Programs Coordinator School of Engineering and Information Technology M: +61 416 817 811 nour.moustafa@adfa.edu.au
Dr Daniel Prior School of Business +61 2 62688826 d.prior@adfa.edu.au
Dr Elena Sitnikova Senior Lecturer - Cyber Security School of Engineering and Information Technology +61 2 626 88673 e.sitnikova@adfa.edu.au
Professor Massimiliano Tani Bertuol School of Business +61 2 6268 8843 m.tani@adfa.edu.au
Dr Benjamin Turnbull Senior Lecturer, Cyber Security School of Engineering and Information Technology +61 2 626 88736 b.turnbull@adfa.edu.au

Post docs/Research Associates

Name Position School/Centre Phone Email
Dr Erwin Adi Research Fellow School of Engineering and Information Technology e.adi@unsw.edu.au
Ms Miranda Bruce Research Associate School of Engineering and Information Technology +61 2 6268 8702 miranda.bruce@adfa.edu.au

Sessional Teachers

Name Position School/Centre Phone Email
Mr Matthew Byrne Industry Professional School of Engineering and Information Technology cyber@adfa.edu.au
Dr Silvio Cesare Industry Professional School of Engineering and Information Technology cyber@adfa.edu.au
Mr Glenn Diesen Industry Professional School of Engineering and Information Technology cyber@adfa.edu.au
Edward Farrell Industry Professional School of Engineering and Information Technology cyber@adfa.edu.au
Mr Christian Giuffre Industry Professional School of Engineering and Information Technology cyber@adfa.edu.au
Mr Cecil Goldstein Industry Professional School of Engineering and Information Technology cyber@adfa.edu.au
Pedram Hayati Industry Professional School of Engineering and Information Technology cyber@adfa.edu.au
Doug Hill Industry Professional School of Engineering and Information Technology cyber@adfa.edu.au
Bevan Jones Industry Professional School of Engineering and Information Technology cyber@adfa.edu.au
Will McCann Industry Professional School of Engineering and Information Technology cyber@adfa.edu.au
Ms Kylie McDevitt Industry Professional School of Engineering and Information Technology cyber@adfa.edu.au
Dr Michael McGarity Industry Professional School of Engineering and Information Technology cyber@adfa.edu.au
Andrew Muller Industry Professional School of Engineering and Information Technology cyber@adfa.edu.au
Cameron Sands Industry Professional School of Engineering and Information Technology cyber@adfa.edu.au
Roger Smith Industry Professional School of Engineering and Information Technology cyber@adfa.edu.au
Alex Tilley Industry Professional School of Engineering and Information Technology cyber@adfa.edu.au
Ben Whitham Industry Professional School of Engineering and Information Technology cyber@adfa.edu.au

PhD Students

Name Position School/Centre Phone Email
Mahmuda Akter PhD Student School of Engineering and Information Technology mahmuda.akter@adfa.edu.au
Matthew Anderson PhD Student School of Engineering and Information Technology matthew.anderson@adfa.edu.au
Ltcl Lisa Davidson PhD Student School of Engineering and Information Technology lisa.davidson@student.adfa.edu.au
Lisa Liu-Thorrold PhD Student School of Engineering and Information Technology l.liuthorrold@adfa.edu.au
Ms Karine Pontbriand PhD Student School of Engineering and Information Technology k.pontbriand@student.adfa.edu.au
Mr Ramtin Ranji PhD Student School of Engineering and Information Technology r.ranji@student.adfa.edu.au
Sean Rupka PhD Student School of Engineering and Information Technology s.rupka@adfa.edu.au
Mr Tom Sear PhD Student School of Engineering and Information Technology tom.sear@student.adfa.edu.au
Andrew Williams PhD Student School of Engineering and Information Technology andrew.williams3@student.adfa.edu.au

Professional Doctorate Students

Name Position School/Centre Phone Email
Mr Stuart Fowler Professional Doctorate Student School of Engineering and Information Technology stuart.fowler@student.adfa.edu.au
Jessemyn Modini Professional Doctorate Student School of Engineering and Information Technology j.modini@adfa.edu.au
Matthew Ryan Professional Doctorate Student School of Engineering and Information Technology matthew.ryan@student.adfa.edu.au