Faculty of Military Studies


Sir Rupert Myers on behalf of UNSW establishes the Faculty of Military Studies at the Royal Military College (RMC) at Duntroon to deliver degree programs in arts, science and engineering.

Created Faculty Chairs in English, History, Mathematics, Science, and Engineering.

UNSW entered into an association with the RAN College, HMAS Creswell, Jervis Bay, to present approved first year courses, with the final years being presented at UNSW campus.

Professor Sir Rupert Myers. He is our living link with the events of July 1967.

Sir Rupert was born in February 1921 - making him 96 years of age. He was educated at Melbourne High School and then at the University of Melbourne, where he graduated with first class honours in Metallurgy, gaining the degrees of BSc and MSc. He was the first person to receive a PhD from an Australian university when his doctorate was conferred by the University of Melbourne in 1948.

After working at the Atomic Energy Research Establishment at Harwell, England from 1948 to 1952, Professor Myers returned to Australia to take up the Foundation Chair of Metallurgy in the New South Wales University of Technology, as it was then known, in 1953.

He became Dean of the Faculty of Technology (later Applied Science) in 1957 and pro-vice-chancellor in 1961.

He negotiated the association and affiliation agreements with the Navy and the Army in 1967. After becoming the third Vice-Chancellor of UNSW in 1969, he worked tirelessly with the defence minister in the Whitlam Government, Lance Barnard, and the defence minister in the Fraser Government, Jim Killen, to establish a tri-Service academy in 1981.

During a distinguished career he held numerous appointments including Chairman of the Co-operative Research Centre for Greenhouse Accounting; President of the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering, and was a member of the Prime Minister's Science and Engineering Council.

Professor Myers was knighted for his services to higher education and made an Officer of the Order of Australia.