First Annual University Lecture


Launch of an annual University Lecture. The inaugural lecture was delivered by The Hon. Kim Beazley MP, Minister for Employment, Education and Training (left-most in photo) with the lecture titled “The importance of strategic thinking”.

PDF of full speech

Second Annual University Lecture presented by Ms Quentin Bryce (centre)

Annual University Lectures

Presenter Year Position at
time of lecture
Lecture Title
The Honourable Kim Beazley AC 1992 Minister
for Employment, Education and Training
Importance of Strategic Thinking
The Honourable Dame Ms Quentin Bryce AD CVO 1993 Federal
Sex Discrimination Commissioner, Human Rights and Equal Opportunity
Ms Janine Haines AO 1994 Leader,
Emeritus Professor Alan Gilbert AO 1995 Vice-Chancellor
of the University of Tasmania and Vice-Chancellor Elect of the University of
Freedom: The Balanced and Liberal Approach
The Honourable Sir Anthony Frank Mason AC KBE GBM 1996 Chancellor,
UNSW and Chief Justice of the High Court of Australia until 1995
No Lecture 1997    
Mr Tim Besley AC 1998 President,
Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering
Technology and Innovation
Professor Ian Howard 1999 Dean,
UNSW College of Fine Arts
the Military and Security
Professor Stephen Fitzgerald AO 2000 Chairman,
Asia-Australia Institute, UNSW
Comes First, Defence or Foreign Policy? Should Australia have an East Asia
Emeritus Professor Geoffrey Blainey AC 2001 Australian
historian and author
Glenrowan, Gallipoli and Singapore: (What lesson should be learned?)
Dr Paul Kelly 2002 Editor-at-large,
The Australian
a re-interpretation of Australia’s national interest
The Right Honourable Malcom Fraser AC 2003 22nd
Australian Prime Minister 1975-1983
way forward for Australia’s Foreign Policy?
Professor the Honourable Dame Marie Bashie AD CVO 2004 The
Governor of NSW
Reverend Mr Tim Costello AO 2005 Chief
Executive World Vision Australia
Dr Hugh Mackay AO 2006 Psychologist,
Social Researcher and Writer
Ethics of Leadership
Ms Natasha Stott Despoja AM 2007 Senator
for South Australia 1995-2008
 Rethinking Issues of
Leadership: Australia’s Roles and Obligations in a Changing World
Professor Clive Hamilton 2008 Professor
of Public Policy, Centre for Applied Philosophy and Public Ethics, Charles
Sturt University
Change and its Implications for Australia’s Future
Dr David Kilcullen 2009 Founder
and Non-Executive Director, Caerus Associates LLC
Accidental Guerrilla
His Excellency General the Honourable Sir Peter Cosgrove AK MC 2010 Chancellor
of the Australian Catholic University 2010-2014
Challenges Facing Leaders Today
Mr Phillip Adams AO 2011 Writer
and Politican Commentator
the audience fails the media - how voters fail democracy’
The Honourable Mr Timothy Fischer AC 2012 Deputy
PM 1996-1999
and Defence Attaches in the 21st Century. High Speed Diplomacy and High Speed Rail
Ms Kate Anne AO 2013 CEO
of Beyond Blue 2012-2014
3 E’s of Leadership: Enthusiasm, Empathy and Ethics
Professor Eliot Cohen 2014 Professor of Strategic Studies at the John Hopkins University The Art of Strategic Advice
No Lecture 2015    
No Lecture 2016    
The Honourable Kim Beazley AC 2017 Australian
Strategic Policy Institute, Distinguished Fellow
Strategic Assumptions, Are We in Warning Time