Thirty UNSW Canberra alumni honoured on Queen's Birthday


Thirty UNSW Canberra alumni were recognised for their contribution to Australian society in the 2018 Queen’s Birthday Honours, alongside the Australian Defence Force Academy Commandant Brigadier Cheryl Pearce.

 Major General Fergus McLachlan received the honour of an Officer of the Order of Australia in the Military Division for distinguished service in the appointments of Head Modernisation and Strategic Plans - Army, Commander Forces Command and significant contributions to the Australian Army and modernisation as part of the joint Australian Defence Force for Australia’s interests.

 Three UNSW Canberra alumni received the honour of a Member of the Order of Australia in the Military Division.

Colonel Jeffrey Robert Brock was honoured for exceptional service to the Australian Army in the fields of aviation medicine and health.

Colonel Gabrielle Follett was honoured for exceptional service to the Australian Defence Force as Commanding Officer 3rd Combat Service Support Battalion and as a Staff Officer in the Office of the Chief of the Defence Force and Army Headquarters.

Colonel Damian Hill was honoured for exceptional service as Commander Combat Training Centre, Commanding Officer of 4th Regiment, Royal Australian Artillery and as acting Commander 3rd Brigade.

Brigadier Pearce received a Commendation for Distinguished Service for distinguished performance of duty in warlike operations as the Commander Task Group Afghanistan, Operation Highroad from February 2016 to November 2016.


Full list of UNSW Canberra alumni Queen’s Birthday Honours


Officer in the Military Division

Major General Fergus Andrew McLachlan AM - Australian Army


Member in the Military Division

Colonel Jeffrey Robert Brock - Royal Australian Navy

Colonel Gabrielle Maree Follett- Royal Australian Navy

Colonel Damian John Hill - Royal Australian Navy


Medal in the Military Division

Commander Glenn Alan Williams RAN - Royal Australian Navy

Major Richard Paul Clark - Australian Army

Group Captain David John Houghton - Royal Australian Air Force 


Distinguished Service Cross

Colonel Richard Anthony VAGG


Distinguished Service Medal

Australian Army Lieutenant Colonel Christopher Dudley Garndiner

Colonel Michael Lee Murdoch


Commendation for Distinguished Service

Colonel Kahlil Scarf Fegan DSC

Brigadier Jason Kyle Walk

Colonel Mark Christopher Welburn


Conspicuous Service Cross

Captain Gregory Allen Laxton RAN

Commander Anthony Richard Nagle RAN

Captain Aaron Walter Nye RAN

Chief Petty Officer Michael John O’Donnell

Australian Army Lieutenant Colonel Charmaine Sylvia Benfield

Lieutenant Colonel Dennis Patrick Robins

Colonel Leonard Hendrik Rouwhorst

Colonel Kirsty Marie Skinner

Lieutenant Colonel Henry William Stimson

Brigadier Wade Bradley Stothart DSC AM

Colonel Simeon Luke Ward

Squadron Leader Samuel Ian Harkiss

Squadron Leader Michael James Yeomans


Conspicuous Service Medal   

Lieutenant Commander Gordon Jardine RAN

Lieutenant Commander Jasmine Alison Lauer-Smith RAN

Lieutenant Commander Jorge Mathew McKee RAN

Flight Lieutenant Tobias John Liddy-Puccini


The full Queen’s Birthday 2018 Honours List can be downloaded here.